HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: Bo Ismono

Best Dopp Kit ever? Reviewing the Heimplanet Dopp Kit

573 ratings | 43038 views
It Is quite odd to get so excited about such a small and almost basic thing, but this might be the best dopp kit that I’ve ever used. SCORECARD: Geek (Performance) Space & Access 9 Organization 9 Comfort 8 Style (Design) Look & Feel 8 Build, Materials & Hardware 8 Features 9 Stoke (Experience) Warranty & Support 7 Brand experience 6 Value 6 X Factor 8 FINAL SCORE 7.8 Find me on Instagram, Twitter and Youtube @Youknowthebo http://instagram.ISMONO.com http://twitter.ISMONO.com http://youtube.ISMONO.com This video review is featured on http://www.carryology.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (123)
Andrethe Dias (23 days ago)
What is the diffrenc in the motion dop and this one also which dopp do you suggest peak design or this or expediotiner by gravel
Andrethe Dias (22 days ago)
Thanks
Bo Ismono (23 days ago)
Hey Pesci, I haven't seen the Motion Dopp kit in person yet. But looking at Heimplanet's website, I would assume that the main difference is the outer material. Also I haven't had a chance to see any peak design in person yet. So I can't comment on that one unfortunately.
Donald Mei (3 months ago)
Can I get half of that?? Wow. What man needs all those toiletries. I'm now scurrying to their website to see if they make something smaller.
Bo Ismono (3 months ago)
Haha, Donald. I admit I do carry a lot of toiletries, but in my defense just all my contactlens liquids alone add a couple of bottles ;-)
Russell Wong (5 months ago)
How do you bring this through airport security? doesn't it need to be in a clear bag?
Shebnem Dignity (7 months ago)
Wie man direkt am extremen Akzent merkt dass du aus DE bist
Bo Ismono (7 months ago)
haha, stimmt. Das werd ich wahrscheinlich auch nie komplett rausbekommen. LG aus Hamburg.
iamrandyz (10 months ago)
Have you ever considered using this for tech? I use a similar setup to keep my external hard drives, cables, and a few other odds and ends. I like that this is padded, but just not sure about function.
Bo Ismono (10 months ago)
Actually I never thought about using it for tech, but you might be onto something. Should be pretty good for tech to be honest
Mightbe Sherwood (11 months ago)
While it is thick, I noticed that once it was filled with your items, it did not expand much. I guess the foam compressed to fit the shapes inside it.
Bo Ismono (11 months ago)
+Mightbe Sherwood that is actually because the rode link mics aren't that thick either. The Logitech mouse is much higher and the heimplanet pouch doesn't stretch or expand to accommodate such thick items unfortunately
David Borghi (1 year ago)
Great review! Have you ever seen a similar toiletry bag (dopp kit) to this? Or any other vertical toiletry bag? https://www.hardgraft.com/products/refresh-doppkit-classic It's the only vertical toiletry bag I've ever found, sadly It's too expensive to me. :( Thank you! :)
David Borghi (1 year ago)
Bo Ismono Yes, of course, which one do you prefer? I've an Instagram but it's mine and my girlfriend's. Thank you for all your help. Sorry for wasting your time for so long.
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+David Borghi that's too bad. can you drop me a DM on instagram or an email?
David Borghi (1 year ago)
Bo Ismono It's all good. I was not planning to buy a leather one and with your tips I definitely won't buy. Now I'm sad, I just decided to buy the heimplanet but it's unavailable now. :'( Should I try to contact the store that was selling it or do you think would be so hard to buy through Amazon? Thank you so much for your attention and your help. I'm sorry for all the inconvenience. All the best to you. :)
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+David Borghi I personally would stay away from leather when it comes to a dopp kit. There is always a chance that a bottle of shower gel might spill. Leather is then more difficult to clean. Furthermore, a dopp kit is usually exposed to water or just a lot of moisture in the bathroom, I'm not sure how the leather might age with all that moisture over the years. I can't remember how much the heimplanet weight when it was shipped. And I don't know the boxes size, because it was sent with the Daypack.
David Borghi (1 year ago)
Bo Ismono I still don't really know, I really wanted the heimplanet and the one I've linked to you doesn't seems to be "well made", I've saw people complaining about the leather (as always it's difficult to find a good leather case for a "healthy price"). Anyway, do you know any other option? I forgot to ask you, do you remember the total size and weight of the box of your heimplanet when it was delivered to you? Sorry for bothering, as always. Thank you for your attention and all help. :')
Joe Egnor (1 year ago)
Thank you for considering thickness of the kit. I carry a small bag with clothing, medicine, and toiletries. Mainly due to being on call 24/7, and space is a premium. My search for an appropriate kit continues....
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
For those situations it is probably too big or rather to thick. AER has a small Doppkit, that might suit your needs. I haven't had the chance to see one in person yet, but AER usually has some great stuff.
Lutfi Lamat (1 year ago)
Hey Bo, nice video! Always love watching your stuff. I've recommended your channel to my friends. They agree with me! Anyway, I was looking through this dopp kit but couldn't find pictures of the compartment. Do you mind sharing pictures of it? I'm about to purchase one but still contemplating on it. Thanks
koolever3 (1 year ago)
great video.
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
THanks, mate!
fr3d_fly (1 year ago)
Nice video as always Bo. The kit looks very nice, but it feels like it was not designed for a world with long airport lines, flight delays and both cabin baggage and checked luggage limitations. Seems to encourage bringing more, not less. Sometimes you need to restrict yourself a bit (as you mentioned in another video) and force a little ingenuity.
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
Thanks! You are of course right, it is quite big. And it is always better to limit yourself, but in this case I think it is alright. I would use this dopp kit only for long trips and pack this into the check in bag. On long trips you can of course get your toiletries locally instead of packing too much, but a) I prefer to bring my own toiletries and b) this way I can use smaller travel bottles and don't waste anything (i.e. if I buy a big bottle of shower gel in the location I travel to I definitely wont use all of it, and it is therefore wasted) Hope that makes sense ;-) Cheers, mate
Wendy Ang (1 year ago)
just got one from amazon. thanks Bo. I love your videos.
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+Wendy Ang thanks, Wendy. That is awesome. How do you like it so far?
Chan Mark (1 year ago)
How does the Heimplanet Dopp Kit weigh vs the Goruck Shadow Packing cube?
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+Chan Mark True, while the doppkit is in your bag, that doesn't matter. But as soon as you are in your hotel room, this definitely matters. Especially when there is not a lot of space.
Chan Mark (1 year ago)
I understand where you're coming from. But having it high or flat wouldn't matter if you're packing it in a bag when everything gets jumbled up?
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
They are about the same. BUT I wouldn't personally use a Shadow pocket as a Dopp kit. It lacks the organisation and is designed to be wide instead of high, which would mean that all your bottles need to lay flat instead of standing up. But let me know if you have another question or I misunderstood you.
andymck62 (1 year ago)
thanks Bo.i appreciate your work mate,honest and accurate reviews .very well done.
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+andymck62 thank you very much for your kind words. Really appreciate it.
Sergey Kornev (1 year ago)
Hi Bo! Thank you for another great review. The trouble with the dob kits is the following: 1. Liquids have to be in the plastic bag. Some airports (i.e. UK, especially Heathrow, where I am based almost force you to use one of their provided plastic bags. I haven't tried using another one to be honest, but can see this being an issue. 2. Electric toothbrush. This will not fit into one of those. 3. Medication, mini-reupholstery kit and mini sewing kit goes into my all-purpose BUBM pouch which is with me every day So really that only leaves the shaving razor. So what I started doing is - repurposed one of the smaller pouches from a MUJI doop kit and just put it in my carry on. So while I love the idea of the dopp kit, it became redundant for me for small trips. For longer trips, yes, I would put it in my check-in bag. Love the packing process! :D
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
Hey Sergey, THanks for your comprehensive comment ;-) I agree with you totally. In my carryon bag I also depend on those plastic bags, because TSA can be a pain in that regards. But I haven't managed the "One-Bag-Travel" Philosophy, which is why I have a checked in bag anyway. And in that bag I will put a dopp kit. The electric tootbrush of my wife actually fits into this doppkit. This one is actually quite wide. But again, I agree with you, on small trips a doppkit of this size is definitely an overkill and you could stick with something smaller ;-) Cheers, mate!
Sergey Kornev (1 year ago)
Hi Bo. Thank you for the video - love your style. One thing that worries me about this particular kit/set up is that all the liquids have to be in a plastic bag for the airport security. Organising and reorganising it back into this set up is not something that I would be able to do and is not practical. Would you agree?
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+Sergey Kornev thank you, Sergey. I totally agree with you. But I wouldn't consider this to be inside my carryon bag as it is quite big. You can of course, but I personally haven't managed to travel with one bag only due to my equipment. But I also heard, that as long as all your bottles are 100ml bottles they might let you through TSA anyway
Asaad Fazal Khan (2 years ago)
hi Bo can i please request your take on two back packs, first being Everki Flight and the other being Incase ICON Slim Pack. I am looking for a newbackpack after i kind of lost my older one (that being everki flight with which i was quiet happy with), i want something for work to carry my laptop mainly it should be something i can move around airports quickly but it should look good while being not supper expencive. what would you advice me amoung the two or are there any other bags that i should just get my hands on?
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Asaad Fazal Khan of course, Asaad. You're very welcome. Both bags are great, but the review of the heimplanet will still take awhile. Px review in two weeks 😉
Asaad Fazal Khan (2 years ago)
Thank you bo! you my friend a awesome, i really appriate you taking your time to reply me. I would say Hiemplanet Daypack looks realy promising (i have like 15 tabs open on my browser reading about this bag as i am writing this reply), though i would wait for your review of PX Invisible Back pack before deciding on anything. Thanks again!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Hey Asaad! I haven't tested neither of the two that you've mentioned. But I heard a lot of good things about the Incase. Other than that you might want to take a look at the Heimplanet Daypack (great design and clamshell opening, which in my opinion is the best opening for a bag), the PX Invisible Backpack (review will be out in about two to three weeks). Both of them are around 22L in size and have a compartment for a 15" laptop. Also they both have a look that is suited for business use in my opinion. One of my favorites is also the Goruck GR1 21L, but it is military looking and also very expensive. And if you need to carry a 17" laptop the the LBB Peloton might be interesting to you.
TOP 5 FOOTBALL (2 years ago)
Best YouTuber,amazing reviews, you deserve more subs man
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks, mate. Really appreciate it!
HeroOfWorld61 (2 years ago)
Wie findest du die Marke Incase?
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Hey, Ich finde Incase nicht schlecht. Echt spannende Sachen. Leider hatte ich noch nicht das Glück einer der Taschen selber zu testen.
M. (2 years ago)
Your reviews are always on point Bo! Great review! I personally love the F1 SpacePak Toiletry Bag. Great for packing large or small items and it packs easily!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Poeticalt911 sounds great. I will definitely check them out. Thanks for the tipp
M. (2 years ago)
Bo, you won't be disappointed at all! I own the entire SpacePak line!! I'm in the military and they've been a packer's dream on my deployments overseas! I have recently purchased the laundry bags they offer, to my clothes after the gym, AMAZING!!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Poeticalt911 thank you very much. ✌ I've seen the f1 spacepak series on my vacation in Indonesia. And I regret that I didn't pick one up when I saw them to be honest. They aren't available in Germany. But as soon as I'm in Indonesia again, I will buy some stuff from. Them.
illxphil (2 years ago)
Bo! I love all your videos. And I've completely changed the way I pack now thanks to you. So much space saved! Your production quality is admirable as well.
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+illxphil thanks for this. I'm happy that I was able to help you. Let me know when you have any more questions. Cheers, mate 😉 ✌
MrJCollector (2 years ago)
Hi can you review that blue backpack that you use for check-ins? Thanks!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+MrJCollector Oh, you mean the Eastpak Tranvers rolling case. I've been using that one for years. You're right, maybe I should make a review or video about that one.
MrJCollector (2 years ago)
The one where you pack your check in bag in the first episode of travelling with Bo
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Hey, which blue backpack are you referring to?
Kabir Humayon (2 years ago)
I love your videos Bo!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thank you very much, Kabir!
Snehal Wagh (2 years ago)
Excellent review again.. ^_^
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thank you :-)
blondre3000 (2 years ago)
Looks like the same problem I have with just about all DOPP kits - it's just way too freaking big. Also who the hell needs 800D nylon on a DOPP kit? It's just way too thick and heavy. My Osprey DOPP fully loaded probably weighs less than that one does empty. Looks like AER has one coming out soon, but also looks to be just a little too big in every dimension, especially length - it really only need be as long as a toothbrush and no longer.
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+blondre3000 sounds great. Although a little organization would be very helpful. I haven't been able to test any Tumi product yet. But they have a great reputation
blondre3000 (1 year ago)
I recently found a small Tumi zippered bag that's just about the perfect mini dopp size. No organization though, which is a bummer.
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+blondre3000 With flat I actually meant slim. sorry bout that. The Osprey does look interesting. I might take a look at that one. Thanks. But a perfect dopp kit or bag for that matter will never exist, because everyone packs differently. Which probably caused my obsession with bags in the first place haha.
blondre3000 (2 years ago)
One thing you can do is get smaller bottles and combine products. For instance when travelling I use one small 2oz bottle of soap that works for body, hair, and face. It makes packing lighter, faster, easier, and it's easier when I shower too. Personally I like a somewhat slim dopp that can fit on tighter counters - preferably small enough to fit between the back of the sink and the wall, while still standing upright. For wide and flat dopp kits look at the Marmot Mini Hauler, the Osprey Ultralight Padded Organizer, or the Osprey Ultralight Zip Organizer. I haven't found the perfect DOPP kit, I don't think one exists yet. Osprey is a pretty good size and nice balance of pockets and open space though.
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Agreed, Most of the dopp kits I've seen tend to be quite big or rather thick. I'd love them to be more wider but then rather flat, but I haven't seen a lot of those. But to be fair I do carry a lot of toiletries and this of course adds to the size that I need.
Julian Fuentes (2 years ago)
Looks nice and very practical, so it is easy to use!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
True, I can highly recommend it!
Hernán Suárez (2 years ago)
muy buena reseña Bo. Mi pregunta sería: cuál es mejor? este o el canister S de The North Face?
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Hello Herman! Thank you very much. I don't speak spanish, so I used google translate ;-) I hope it translated correctly. I like the northface base camp series, but I think the canister is too "basic". There isn't much organisation, therefore I prefer the heimplanet dopp kit.
InspirationIsFree (2 years ago)
Nice Bo. I looked at the heimplanet when I was shopping around for a dopp but it was just a bit pricey for me to get it shipped to Australia. I like that its got lots of organisation and can hang up. I ended up going with a North Face Base Camp canister and it does its job pretty well, though I'd like a bit more organisation. Also check out the Hazard 4 Reveille! All the above and without the width of the heimplanet.
Bo Ismono (1 year ago)
+Samuel Dunn Yeah, shipping and custom fees can be really pricey. I feel your pain. Being in Germany and having to pay that many fees whenever I order stuff from USA. But I can imagine that you have to pay even more in Australia.
Samuel Dunn (1 year ago)
InspirationIsFree man, I just did the same thing, wanted to ship to Australia, then saw the price!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thank you very much. I love the Northface Basecamp series. I have the Duffel, but the canister was too basic for my needs. As you said, it lacks organisation, but other than that it is great. I will check out the Hazard. Thanks for the tip!
Oscar Garland (2 years ago)
Hey Bo, many thanks for the review. What is the make of the roll up dopp kit you showed in the video?
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks, Oscar. The brand (or at least that's what's written on it) is Picard. I got it years ago (sometime when I was 15 I believe) from my Mom. Unfortunately, I don't believe that you can actually still get it.
Ben W. Lan (2 years ago)
was looking for something like this - thanx :)
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
You're very welcome, Ben ;-)
aditya maheranta (2 years ago)
hey, i really like your video. i really interested on how to carry my stuffs around. i want to ask something, how do you store all of your bag ? maybe a little tour of your closet or your "bag space". it would be very helpful , thanks.
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+aditya maheranta haha ;-)
aditya maheranta (2 years ago)
so we actually have something in common, hahha. thx man !
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks, Aditya! All my bags are actually more or less stored in a pile . I don't have that much space for all the bags haha
Davide Lincetto (2 years ago)
Nice video!! What's the brand of the rollup dopp kit that you show at the beginning of the video? Thanks
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks, Davide. The brand (or at least that's what's written on it) is Picard. I got it years ago (sometime when I was 15 I believe) from my Mom. Unfortunately, I don't believe that you can actually still get it.
Jeff J (2 years ago)
Cool review my friend. This is an essential piece of kit and it looks like something we should all pick up.
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks, Jeff. ;-)
Nikola Slaveski (2 years ago)
Good work Bo!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks, Nikola!
Benjamin Ong (2 years ago)
10k subs at last! Congrats :)
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Brian Kim thank you, Brian. 😀
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Benjamin Ong thanks, Benjamin. It's unbelievable. 😀
Jacob M (2 years ago)
Nice review
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Jacob M thanks, Jacob!
Brad Wheeler (2 years ago)
I wonder how it compares to Tom Binh's Spiff Kit. They have a standard size and deluxe size that offers good storage compartments, with ability to sit upright, but without the width, at least the standard. Styling on their products is hit or miss with folks, but it may be another alternative.
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Hey Brad, That one looks pretty interesting. I might need to check it out. And I agree with you in terms of look and styling. Their features are quite cool, but the looks is not really my cup of tea.
YoungAndDumb (2 years ago)
Great Overall Video! As usual. Just wonder if you could do a review of a smaller dopp kit?
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+YoungAndDumb thank you very much 😉 I will see what I can find.
Huy Nguyễn Hữu (2 years ago)
Awesome video :)) I wish there will be more tactical look product review if so it would be great. Thanks
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Huy Nguyễn Hữu That is great!
Huy Nguyễn Hữu (2 years ago)
I've used the Rush 12 for about 1 year and still love it :))
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Most of the military style bags are that heavy unfortunately. But that is due to their durability. The Goruck is very expensive indeed, but the Rush12 is awesome. I used it for a very long time.
Huy Nguyễn Hữu (2 years ago)
it's a bit heavy for me :p but in return it's the cheapest backpack tactical look in my country. I always wanted to have a goruck , but it's quite expensive plus the shipping cost :< omg
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Huy Nguyễn Hữu cool. How do you like it so far?
cecilchan1988 (2 years ago)
I've never heard of this being called a dopp kit in England - its just called a toiletries bag here. Great review
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks! To be honest: Before I got into this whole bag "thing" I wasn't aware of the term "dopp kit" as well. ;-)
bajigurwedangronde (2 years ago)
Awesome review Bo! Love the product too, I never really give too much thought on dopp kit before, so this is quite informative. Thanks!
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
Thanks, mate. Glad you like it ;-)
Ed (2 years ago)
A bag that you put in a bigger bag, now you're talking! :P
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
+Ed Who am I to judge, everyone has his or her own style ;-) But I like it organized just to find stuff more easily.
Ed (2 years ago)
+Bo Ismono I have a rucksack. Everything goes in - camera, lenses you name it. All loose! You'd probably hate it xD
Bo Ismono (2 years ago)
That's what I do ;-) haha, Ed you should check my bag, almost everything inside the bag is then again packed inside a bag or a pouch or a packing cube. My wife thinks I'm crazy haha

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.