HomeПутешествияRelated VideosMore From: Pack Hacker

Muji Hanging Travel Case Review | Organized Travel Toiletry Bag & Dopp Kit | Mesh, Nylon, Polyester

228 ratings | 20117 views
Thanks to its superior organization and thoughtful design, the compact Muji Hanging Travel Case / dopp kit is able to hold more than you'd think. View Details & Buy: http://packha.kr/5ksi View Our Full Review: https://packhacker.com/travel-gear/muji/hanging-travel-case/ Travel cases and toiletry bags are ubiquitous travel accessories. Most anyone who journeys near or far brings any number of grooming and health items. With such a widespread need comes a surplus of options. Don’t worry though. We found one that stands out from the crowd—The Muji Hanging Travel Case. Weighing only 7 ounces (~200 grams) and measuring just 6.3 x 7.5 x 2.4 inches (16 x 19 x 6 cm), someone’s first impression may be that this toiletry bag is too small. But once you open up the main compartment’s zipper, you’ll be surprised by all the attention to detail. There are three interior pockets, all of varying sizes. The top and bottom have a mesh front panel, allowing you to see what’s inside, ideal for when you’re trying to find toothpaste or some Tums after a long travel day. Also, there are four larger, elastic holsters in the main area. At the top is a hook used to hang the case. It’s nestled in a small pouch, hiding it away from accidentally catching on something. Rounding out the features is one large, exterior pocket on the backside. These pieces blend together to create a highly useable product. One of the most functional aspects of this travel case is the elastic holsters. Inside there are a total of nine, all of varying sizes. The top zippered compartment houses five of them. The main exposed area owns the remaining four. These holsters hold everything in place: shampoo and conditioner bottles; toothpaste; nail clippers; gauze; Vaseline; tubes of medicine; mouthwash; you name it. Without them, there would be no great or efficient way to organize this very tight space; all the items inside would be free to bounce and slide around, causing chaos and disorder. Another excellent attribute of the Muji hanging travel case is the part that makes it hang: the hook. Though it’s plastic, it feels solid. Even with a full load of toiletries, there was no indication the hook was under any serious stress. Further, the way the hook attaches to the case itself is well done, thanks to a rugged piece of fabric and strong stitching. A hook generally isn’t something you would think of needing on a toiletry bag, but we found it quite convenient for freeing up space in the bathroom. Just find a towel rack, some shelving, or the like and hang it. The way this carrier was designed, it’s easiest to access all the toiletries inside when it’s hanging. MENTIONED IN THIS VIDEO Schick ST2 Razors: http://packha.kr/cvxu GoToobs: http://packha.kr/i645 RELATED VIDEOS GORUCK Padded Field Pocket Review: https://youtu.be/1prjKZc-K4U Lush Shampoo Bar Review: https://youtu.be/mXVtdk9OpWE PackTowl Personal Towel Review: https://youtu.be/JClsQzqxgAA HumanGear GoToobs Review: https://packhacker.com/travel-gear/humangear/gotoob/ The Wahl Compact Travel Trimmer Review: https://youtu.be/C7pNfbMQtTs View all of our travel gear reviews: https://packhacker.com/travel-gear/ SHOW NOTES: In this video, Tom Wahlin of Pack Hacker reviews the Muji Hanging Travel Case - an organized travel toiletry bag / dopp kit with a ton of pockets that make organization a breeze. This thing fits quite a bit more than you’d initially expect. This mesh, nylon, and polyester travel case is made in Cambodia. 🎶 Dj Quads - Soul CONNECT WITH US Sign Up for our Newsletter: https://packhacker.com/newsletter Subscribe to Pack Hacker on YouTube: http://packha.kr/youtube Follow Pack Hacker on Instagram: http://packha.kr/instagram Like Pack Hacker on Facebook: http://packha.kr/facebook Follow Pack Hacker on Twitter: http://packha.kr/twitter Follow Pack Hacker on Pinterest: http://packha.kr/pinterest Follow Pack Hacker on LinkedIn: http://packha.kr/linkedin TERMS Pack Hacker utilizes affiliate links, which means that if you click on one of our product links, Pack Hacker will receive a small commission at no cost to you. This helps support us, and allows us to keep providing reviews, guides, and content for you. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. Thanks for your support!
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (72)
Tom Wahlin (11 months ago)
Do you call it a "toiletry bag" or a "dopp kit"? Something else? Let me know in the comments below! I usually just go with "dopp kit" - it's the easiest to day and my mouth gets lazy after speaking in all these Pack Hacker videos ... 😉
zvczvcvzxcv (1 month ago)
Never heard of dopp kit until now.
Nickelini (1 month ago)
From Canada, have never heard of a dopp kit. I thought I'd heard all the US expressions, but I guess not.
Jules-Frederic Nerestant (6 months ago)
I call it "those tiny bottles."
Tom Wahlin (9 months ago)
Sara Chivers “Dopp” is sort of a weird word :)
Pack Hacker (9 months ago)
Sara Chivers - thanks for the insight!
patty lu (1 day ago)
Tiny bag! i like this one that can actually hold full sized toiletries. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FFNM9H9?th=1
marcel miranda (27 days ago)
how many times have you gone through tsa check with this toiletries bag? I wonder how do you handle the fact of the 3-1-1 since you are not precisely going with the transparent 1 L bag.
Pack Hacker (23 days ago)
Hi Marcel! We haven't head an issue bringing this directly through security on any of our flights, however, we always make sure to have a TSA Quart-Sized baggie rolled up and stored within the side pocket. That way, we can easily transfer any 3oz liquids containers into it + we always make sure it will fit prior to departing. Hope this helps! - Tom
AbbieJolie C (1 month ago)
I’m having both a cosmetics kit and a toiletries bag.
Pack Hacker (1 month ago)
👍👍
Anna - (1 month ago)
I am not a fan of toiletry bag as i always pack my cosmetics and toiletry items in very small containers and put it in 1 plastic pouch, perhaps because i normally travelling only for 2 weeks max. But this review about the design of Muji's toiletry bag made me thinking to go to Muji and take a look of it by myself, LOL. Indonesian flights carry-on weight limit is only 7 kg, and they became more strict about it lately, that's why i usually used plastic pouch.
Pack Hacker (1 month ago)
Anna -  Great name! 😉and great to hear you are digging it! -Hannah
Anna - (1 month ago)
Pack Hacker  - Hi Hannah , apparently we have the same name, Hannah. And ya, Tom made me grab my first toiletry bag, LOL, but the silver color one. I like the elastic band inside the pouch and saw it in real i just like the design even more. It's worth that high price for a toiletry bag LOL
Pack Hacker (1 month ago)
Hi Anna, let us know if you end up grabbing one! 😊 -Hannah
phase3prophet (3 months ago)
this vid and Tynan’s written review convinced me to buy this, and i love it! thank you for being a great resource~ tip for using this on flights: a 3-1-1 compliant pouch/baggie can fit neatly in the large open pocket if you‘d prefer to not use the elastic holsters until you get to your destination. muji’s TPU Clear Case (which i‘ve owned) fits perfectly!
Pack Hacker (3 months ago)
Hey phase3prophet! Glad you're digging the review! Also, great tips 👌
JediKnight (4 months ago)
Where is the tiny shaver from
Pack Hacker (4 months ago)
Hey XenoTakahashi- featured is the WAHL Compact Travel Trimmer! Here's a link to our full review: https://youtu.be/C7pNfbMQtTs
eternalstarangel (4 months ago)
toiletry bag for myself. Dopp kit to me usually refers to a man's toiletry/shave kit
Pack Hacker (4 months ago)
Another point for toiletry bag!
fredlets travels (4 months ago)
Dopp kit is a term particularly in use in the US for toiletry bags. The name derives from the early 20th century leather craftsman Charles Doppelt, whose company designed the case in 1926. Toiletry bag - Wikipedia
Pack Hacker (4 months ago)
Thanks for dropping some knowledge on us fredlets travels! 👍
Elusive Illusion (4 months ago)
Toiletries bag
Pack Hacker (4 months ago)
👍👍
is this TSA approved for carry on package? I'm planning to use one
Pack Hacker (4 months ago)
We've never had an issue bringing it through TSA. Always be sure to pack a quart sized bag and ensure your liquids fit inside just in case!
Allgames Total (6 months ago)
guys i would love to see you review some japanese EDC bag/bagpacks. like Porter or MSPC.
Pack Hacker (6 months ago)
Hey Allgames Total! Thanks for reaching out- we've heard there are some great Japanese EDC packs. We have a lot of reviews in the pipeline- stay tuned!
Bennett Harris (6 months ago)
SICK STUFF KEEP IT UP
Pack Hacker (6 months ago)
Thanks Bennett Harris! We plan to! 👍
Life & Gear - Hacks (6 months ago)
Nice video, I got one of these about 6 months ago will do a review as well I think. I really like Muji in general and all their organizational gear!
Pack Hacker (6 months ago)
Good to hear Life & Gear - Hacks!
Marie Dimey (7 months ago)
Such a big fan!!!! I love your reviews, I'm passionate about backpacks, can't really explain why, but glad that i found your channel, telling everyone i know! Thanks for the Good job! 😊
Pack Hacker (7 months ago)
Thanks Marie! Happy to hear the reviews are helping you out. We're passionate about backpacks too! 😄
taowalker777 (7 months ago)
Thanks for great review! I think that's what I'm looking for. I've ordered one...
Pack Hacker (7 months ago)
Nice! Let us know how it goes :)
het zalwel (7 months ago)
is this the small or the large?
het zalwel (7 months ago)
where can i get the small version?
het zalwel (7 months ago)
Is there a online platform where i can meet other travekers?
het zalwel (7 months ago)
nice i already ordered the large version :/
Pack Hacker (7 months ago)
Depends on how many toiletries you like to carry with you! There is a smaller version (this is the newer, larger version).
het zalwel (7 months ago)
nice i also heard there is a small version. which one is better for travel?
Bo Ismono (10 months ago)
Thanks for this video, Tom! I was actually looking at this when I was a t the Muji store. One question regarding "One Bag Traveling": As TSA is pretty strict about liquids I wasn't sure if you could actually use a dopp kit like this. As far as I know the bottles are limited but also the container in which those bottles are stored. In Germany all liquid bottles need to be stored inside a 1L ziplock bag. Doesn't TSA stop you as a DOPP Kit will definitely accomodate more bottles than a ziplock bag?
Tom Wahlin (10 months ago)
I just emailed your biz YouTube address, Bo!
Tom Wahlin (10 months ago)
Indeed! Hit & miss :) It would be great to connect and get a collab going! I'll message you privately on YouTube and we can go from there!
Bo Ismono (10 months ago)
Tom Wahlin that's a very good tip. Thank you very much, Tom. Security checks can be a hit and miss sometimes. Sometimes they check all of your stuff, sometimes they just wave you through. Maybe you and I should do a podcast or livestream talk together. I would think that we both have a lot of stuff to chat about 😉
Tom Wahlin (10 months ago)
Hey Bo - thanks for viewing! Liquids can certainly be tricky while traveling and you bring up a good point. I've personally been through the Frankfurt Airport, the Berlin Schönefeld Airport, and countless other airports both in and out of the U.S. without a plastic resealable bag (just using the DOPP kit as-is with 100ml liquids inside) and it's been OK, however your mileage may vary. It's always up to the agent and their discretion! As for storing liquids in a 1L plastic resealable bag (or a quart here in the states) - here's the official word from TSA: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/liquids-rule I'd say the best strategy is to bring a spare 1L (quart) bag tucked away somewhere - although most airports have boxes of these near the checkpoint should you need them. Then you can step out of line, seal everything in the bag, and then head back through security if you run into any issues when trying to only use the dopp kit :) It's always a good idea to store individual liquids in 100ML (3.4oz) sized containers and below. We've had luck with the GoToob system (https://packhacker.com/travel-gear/humangear/gotoob/), plus, the capacity is printed clearly on the bottle if anyone questions the capacity. Safe travels and hope this helps!
Dawn Baker (10 months ago)
Dopp is for males and toiletries for female
Pack Hacker (10 months ago)
Interesting - "Coop" is new to us!
Dominic Schunke (10 months ago)
Cons: Heavy!
Pack Hacker (10 months ago)
Nice choice on Eagle Creek! We love their whole Specter line. Glad to hear you're liking the content we're putting out as well.
Dominic Schunke (10 months ago)
I'm using a Pac-It Sac medium size from Eagle Creek. :) It weighs around 1.5 oz. By the way... I really love your channel! You made me buy a Goruck 26L backpack and last week I ordered the Pocket Trimmer from Wahl. Also a great and minimalist piece of gear. :)
Pack Hacker (10 months ago)
Do you use a lighter dopp / toiletry bag? We love hearing about new gear!
stvsueoka1 (10 months ago)
I call it a toiletry bag, and I actually bought this while in Japan this summer. Cost me under $10US on sale. I'm one of those who believe that you don't always have to drop a lot of money to get quality items and didn't see why I should spend $50-100 on a toiletry bag after I found this one. I believe they called it a travel case or something like that. BTW, you're right, the store I was walking through was in Fukuoka (Canal City location) totally sucked me in and I got lost for a couple of hours in there hahah. They even had a full sized Muji HOUSE built INSIDE the store for you to tour ... those were reasonably priced as well haha :)
Pack Hacker (10 months ago)
Great deal! So easy to get lost in Muji stores :)
dem72011 (11 months ago)
Toiletry bag
Pack Hacker (11 months ago)
dem72011 - chalk another one up for toiletry bag 👍👍
Auto Pilot (11 months ago)
Great comprehensive review. I would use dropp kit.
Pack Hacker (11 months ago)
+1 for Dopp Kit!
Never heard of a 'Dopp Kit' - It's a toiletry bag or wash bag here in the UK!
Pack Hacker (10 months ago)
Definitely not a "dope kit" :)
Jay Sterling (10 months ago)
I concur, same for me. When I first heard 'dopp kit' I thought I heard 'dope kit'. Blimey , I never thought Americans were so liberal and risk loving ( aka: love the rubber gloves) when travelling.
Pack Hacker (11 months ago)
Good note! We'll add "wash bag" into the mix
Kandyman736 (11 months ago)
To me a toiletry bag has everything I would potentially use if I used the toilet, including wipes or toilet paper. A dopp kit is more of a cosmetics or grooming kit. Look at it this way, a dopp kit is for your areas of your body which will be publicly exposed. A toiletry bag includes extra items for your "private parts".
Pack Hacker (11 months ago)
We've never thought of it this way. Well said!
NPTuttle (11 months ago)
Dopp kit
Pack Hacker (11 months ago)
👍👍

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.